Many Schools Closed After Hurricane

(Undated)   –The effects of Hurricane Irene are prompting most area public schools to close today. The following systems will be off today:

Anne Arundel County

Baltimore City

Baltimore County

Calver County

Caroline County

Cecil County

Harford County

Howard County

Kent County

Queen Anne’s County

St. Mary’s County

Talbot County

In addition, seven Montgomery County schools are closed.  They are Bradley Hills, Chevy Chase, Harmony Hills, Highland View, Woodlin, and Piney Branch Elementary Schools, and Francis Scott Key Middle School.

The following schools are closed in DC:  Anacostia High School, Beers Elementary, Coolidge High School, LaSalle-Backus Education Center, Malcolm X Elementary, Orr Elementary, Oyster-Adams Bilingual School (Adams Building), Oyster-Adams Bilingual School (Oyster Building), Savoy Elementary, Stanton Elementary, Thomas Elementary, Turner Elementary at Green, Whittier Education Center, and Winston Education Center.  Also, School Without Walls students and staff should report to Eastern High School.

Source: Copyright © 2011 Metro Networks Inc.